Our world, our community, and my town

I have been mulling over this idea for last four years, and never found a time or didn’t have enough courage to kick-start this project. It was a recurring items on my annual “To do list”, and had been there for last four years.  As I write this post, I feel content that finally I am able to give something back to the community. A community close to my heart, but miles away from my home. A community in which I was born, and raised in. A community I feel so close to, and can relate to. A community, which had given me many enjoyable experiences and valuable lessons in life. A community, which I was able to share with my siblings, my friends, and my family.  A community , an integral part of of our life!

I remember this very vividly, I must have been about 14 years old, wise enough to know the world. I used to attend a small nursery group with my Auntie.  It was an early morning session from 9:00 to 12, every weekdays. There were no class rooms, it was conducted in my Aunt’s backyard. A literally open plan nursery setting.

Aanganwadi

Aanganwadi

During my school holidays I helped my Auntie with this nursery. I enjoyed playing with kids, singing songs to these little kids. I can recall that these kids were the most happiest bunch of kids I had come across. They enjoyed attending the “Aaganwadi”, and were always very respectful and polite. Some of these kids barely spoke, guessing they were probably shy nevertheless they were able to convey their joy through facial expression!! I have always cherished these experiences, and whenever I think about these moments my heart is filled with gratitude, and a desire to “Give something back to my community”.

Thankfully, I am now able to make this dream a reality. Finally I have a plan to kick-start my dream project!! Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

